Massachusetts bicycle rules
1. A BICYCLE IS CONSIDERED A VEHICLE! IT MUST FOLLOW THE SAME RULES AS A CAR , TRUCK, OR BUS.
2. A white bicycle light that is visible from 183 meters at night is mandatory. A red strobe rear light is mandatory. Front and back bicycle lights must be ON 1/2 hour before sunset until 1/2 hour after sunrise. You may be fined up to $20 for riding at night without lights.
2. CYCLISTS MUST:
- Ride WITH traffic!
- Use hand signals when turning or stopping.
- Keep one hand on the handlebars at all times.
- Never ride two on a bike.
- Stop at all stop signs and obey traffic signals.
- Give pedestrians the right of way.
- For a complete list of bicycle rules, please visit MassBike.
Massachusetts pedestrians & Useful tips
1. Pedestrians must walk FACING TRAFFIC. This way, the traffic can see you and you can see the traffic.
2. When walking at night, please wear light-colored clothing and reflective vests. Please also bring a flashlight with you to light your way as many of our roads are not well lit.
3. BICYCLE LOCKS ARE ESSENTIAL! Bicycles are stolen from J-1 students quite frequently. When asked, most students did not lock their bicycle. If you have a bicycle lock, please bring it with you. If you have bicycle lights that are Massachusetts law compliant, please bring them with you as well.
If You have a crash with a car…
1. STOP IMMEDIATELY!
2. Call the police (911) to let them know a crash has taken place. Tell them your approximate location.
3. Get the name, contact information, insurance information, and license plate number of the car that hit you.
4. WAIT for the police to arrive.
5. If the driver is at fault, his or her car insurance will for any medical bills you may have as a result of the crash. However, it may take a few months for that money to get to you.
PLEASE WATCH THIS CAPE COD SPECIFIC SAFETY VIDEO!